SKYWAY, DEC 29, 2018

It was frigid but it was fun! Snow for the Skuffle was crunchy and slow but there was brilliant sunshine which always improves the mood and the grooming was impeccable so racers came in challenged but happy. They were rewarded with Element Rice Cake samples which combined nicely with the Justins Nut Butter samples then topped off with Four Points Energy Bars and a hot cup of minestrone. A few lucky ones walked away with some wonderful door prizes from Loki Outdoor Gear. Thanks to those sponsors!

The race turned out to be a mentor/mentee battle as CMU Coach Dave Aschwanden eeked (see photo by David James below) out the win over ex-CMU racer Andrew James. And the women continue to impress! Women captured three of the top six places! They were led by young Mesa, CO local Jordan Miner who is currently racing with Aspen Nordic and tuned up for the US Championships in Vermont next week. Good luck, Jordan!

Dave Ashwandan winner of Skyway Skuffle

Winners Dave Ashwanden #187 and Andrew James #151. Photo by David James.


1Dave Aschwanden50MCedaredgeCO0:37:50
2Andrew James23MGrand JunctionCO0:37:51
3Jordan Miner16FMesaCO0:43:16
4Brooke Bosman28FGrand JunctionCO0:44:22
5Justin Silcox48MCarbondaleCO0:44:40
6Christie Aschwanden47FCedaredgeCO0:46:08
7Rudy Bolona50MCarbondaleCO0:46:13
8Greg Randall57MCollbranCO0:48:45
9Martin Wiesiolek53MGrand JunctionCO0:49:14
10Russel Bollig55MGlenwood SpringsCO0:50:21
11Ken Pill57MGrand JunctionCO0:51:36
12Helen Carlsen58FBasaltCO0:55:16
13Rosemerry Trommer49FPlacervilleCO0:55:22
14Sam Thornhill60MFruitaCO0:55:52
15Doug Johnston62MGrand JunctionCO0:59:13
16Mike Kerrigan58MGrand JunctionCO0:59:23
17Mark Spoon0MPalisadeCO1:00:06
18Dave Knutson69MPaoniaCO1:02:23
19Dan Schultz-Ela62MHotchkissCO1:03:39
20John Thrasher68MDeltaCO1:03:58
21Chuck Bodie65MGrand JunctionCO1:06:35
22Tim Carter83MGrand JunctionCO1:09:28
23Marilyn Kastens62FGrand JunctionCO1:09:29
24Tina Wilson62FGrand JunctionCO1:10:23
25Donnie Tietsema33MFruitaCO1:10:38
26Kevin Donoher39MGrand JunctionCO1:12:40
27David Batten68MMontroseCO1:16:16
28Corey Hinman43FFruitaCO1:27:45
29Theresa Miner53FMesaCO1:29:43
30Anky Von Schnoplau64FHotchkissCO1:36:32
31Mary Gilbert69FFort CollinsCO1:39:55
32Donna King61FGrand JunctionCO1:44:14


Points are awarded to the top 20 finishers in each gender category in each race.
The four races that earn points are the WinterStart Classic, the Skyway Skuffle, the Grand Mesa Classic and the Mesa Meltdown 20K.

SeriesOverall FEMALE
Helen CarlsenF151732
Tina WilsonF131427
Anky Von SchnoplauF101121
Jordan MinerF02020
Theresa MinerF81220
Gwynn BarrowsF20020
Corey HinmanF71320
Brooke BosmanF01919
Hannah BrownF19019
Christie AschwandenF01818
Meredith BremnerF17017
Rosemerry TrommerF01616
Kellie ArthurF16016
Marilyn KastensF01515
Retta BrueggerF14014
Annie MuellerF12012
Susy EllisonF11011
Mary GilbertF01010
Lori StoneF909
Donna KingF099
Angela JohnsonF606
Lilianna PatrickF505
SeriesOverall MALE
Rudy BolonaM161733
Greg RandallM151631
Russel BolligM171431
Martin WiesiolekM141529
Ken PillM131326
Sam ThornhillM81220
Roan HallM20020
Dave AschwandenM02020
Andrew JamesM01919
Cal LindbergM19019
Justin SilcoxM01818
Koby VinsonM18018
Dan Schultz-ElaM10717
Tim CarterM9413
Steve ElaM12012
Brad BurrittM11011
Doug JohnstonM01111
Mike KerriganM01010
Mark SpoonM1910
Chuck BodieM459
Dave KnutsonM088
Patrick HummelM707
John ThrasherM066
Michael HuttonM606
Andy GingerichM505
Donnie TietsemaM033
Tom LambertM303
David MaasM202
Kevin DonoherM022
David BattenM011
Ewell CulbertsonM000
Don MetzlerM000