Tom, Kristie, Tina, Helen

Tom Ela with Christie Ashwandan, Tina Wilson and Helen Carlsen.


Helen Carlsen once again was the woman to beat in the 2018-2019 Race Series but nobody could. Her string continues as the top woman racer on Grand Mesa. Tina Wilson’s strong and steady season put her solidly in second.

The Men’s Series was very exciting as it unfolded through the season with a lead change after every race. Russ Bollig had a strong Meltdown to leap back on top for the Series win sneaking ahead of Greg Randall who definitely made Russ earn it. Martin Wiesiolek jumped into third with his Meltdown finish. Rudy Bolona and Ken Pill rounded out the top 5.

Congratulations to all who competed!

Points are awarded to the top 20 finishers in each gender category in each race. The four races that earn points are the WinterStart Classic, the Skyway Skuffle, the Grand Mesa Classic and the Mesa Meltdown 20K. Note, points were not awarded to college team racers in the Grand Mesa Classic except for the local CMU skiers.

Photos by Tim Carter

NameGenderWSC 18-19SS 18-19GMC 18-19MM 18-19Total
Helen CarlsenF1617141764
Tina WilsonF1414121656
Hannah BrownF192039
Jordan MinerF201939
Gwynn BarrowsF201838
Christie AschwandenF181836
Kellie ArthurF171633
Corey HinmanF813930
Marilyn KastensF151530
Anky Von SchnoplauF111122
Lori StoneF101121
Theresa MinerF91221
Stephenie SchollF2020
Brooke BosmanF1919
Lisa MootF1919
Meredith BremnerF1818
Dafne IzquierdoF1717
Rosemerry TrommerF1616
Heidi KloserF1515
Retta BrueggerF1515
Lily PatrickF6814
Annie MuellerF1313
Caryl BrownF1313
Susy EllisonF1212
Diane ClarkF1010
Mary GilbertF1010
Donna KingF99
Angela JohnsonF77


NameGenderWSC 18-19SS 18-19GMC 18-19MM 18-19Total
Russel BolligM1714141459
Greg RandallM151616956
Martin WiesiolekM141512849
Rudy BolonaM16171346
Ken PillM131310440
Roan HallM202040
Cal LindbergM191938
Dan Schultz-ElaM107926
Justin SilcoxM18725
Dave AschwandenM2020
Sam ThornhillM81220
Tyler SchollM2020
Andrew JamesM1919
Travis MooreM1919
Eivind RoedM1818
Henry BarthM1818
Koby VinsonM1818
Parker CushingM1717
Shawn SchollM1717
Brad BurrittM115016
Steve ElaM12416
Taiga MooreM1616
Antonio MarxuachM1515
Ross DelaplaneM1515
Tim CarterM94215
Patrick HummelM7714
Lew KirkegaardM1313
Corbin CarpenterM1212
Doug JohnstonM1111
Mark SpoonM190111
Matt DeethsM1111
Will RoseM1111
Garrett RussellM1010
Mike KerriganM1010
Chuck BodieM45009
John ThrasherM6309
Dave KnutsonM808
Dusty DodsonM88
Kevin DonoherM268
Bill AllenM66
Michael HuttonM66
Andy GingerichM55
Mark SouthardM55
Donnie TietsemaM33
Kyle StoneM33
Tom LambertM33
David MaasM202
Jason McDonaldM22
David BattenM01001
Scott VigM11
Bill LintottM00
Dan TilleM00
Don MetzlerM000
Ewell CulbertsonM00
Tom ClarkM00