SKYWAY, MARCH 18, 2018

Brave ski racers gathered for the Mesa Meltdown at Skyway to wrap up the 2017-2018 race season and it was a “blast”! By race start it was snowing hard and sideways. I was in awe that racers were actually lining up to go out in that tempest but out they went. I remarked to one of my timing crew members that I thought it was a safe bet that we would see a number of dropouts at the 10K mark when the race looped back through the start area next to all of the warm inviting parked cars. Shame on me for no faith! A few took a quick breather to refuel and one switched to another pair of skis but there was only one that didn’t charge back out into the fray for another 10K. Bravo!

A tight pack of 3 men blew through the 10K mark. They were still close at the finish but Eivind Roed was able to gain some slight separation for the win followed closely by fellow CMU teammate Andrew James and Chris Marcione of Silverthorne. Lillian Miller, also of Silverthorne, skied unchallenged to the top women’s finish and a nice 7th overall. Jordan Miner is getting better all of the time and skied strong to place 2nd for women.

Andrew and Jordan put their second place finishes together with two previous strong finishes to win this season’s 3-race point series. Each won a handy Flexlite camp chair from REI for their efforts.

Four Points Bars and Element Rice Cakes again were a hit for sustained energy and great flavor. Prize donors REI, Summit Canyon Mountaineering, Copper Club Brewing and Kannah Creek Brewing are greatly appreciated for providing excellent rewards and motivation! And a huge bravo to the crew of volunteers who were also out there in the blast getting racers fed and timed: Bob Major, Danielle Burritt, Rick Peterson and Scott Vig.

It was a challenging season for race conditions but we still managed to have lots of fun with some great competition. Let’s hope we can get back to our usual early snow pattern on Grand Mesa so that we can reconvene again in early December to start a fresh season of terrific ski racing. See you then!

Tom, GMNC Race Director


Place Name Age Gender City State RaceTime
1 Eivind Roed 25 M CMU 1:16:49
2 Andrew James 23 M CMU 1:17:02
3 Chris Marcione 29 M Silverthorne CO 1:17:17
4 Geoff Quinter 30 M Denver CO 1:22:30
5 Lew Kirkegaard 46 M Grand Junction CO 1:28:37
6 Martin Wiesiolek 51 M Grand Junction CO 1:28:46
7 Lillian Miller 30 F Silverthorne CO 1:29:41
8 Chad Castren 63 M Kalispell MT 1:30:02
9 Greg Randall 56 M Collbran CO 1:32:12
10 Marc Weinberger 51 M Dillon CO 1:35:28
11 Ken Pill 56 M Grand Junction CO 1:36:14
12 Winslow Robertson 62 M Palisade CO 1:36:25
13 Rudy Bolona 49 M Carbondale CO 1:36:40
14 Jordan Miner 15 F Mesa CO 1:36:49
15 Danny Pierce 71 M Aspen CO 1:39:54
16 Jeff Stahl 48 M Fraser CO 1:40:32
17 Sarah Haubert 31 F Leadville CO 1:42:45
18 Bill Allen 60 M Dillon CO 1:44:37
19 Doug Johnston 62 M Grand Junction CO 1:45:20
20 Helen Carlsen 57 F Basalt CO 1:47:45
21 Kyle Stone 49 M Fruita CO 1:48:37
22 Brad Burritt 56 M Hotchkiss CO 1:53:05
23 Chuck Bodie 64 M Grand Junction CO 1:57:25
24 Ewell Culbertson 60 M Delta CO 2:54:27
25 Brian Burkhardt 31 M Paonia CO 3:33:37
26 Michelle Oberndorf 25 F Grand Junction CO 3:33:44



Place Name Age Gender City State RaceTime
1 Michael Hutton 57 M Carbondale CO 24:39
2 Ben Linstid 41 M Montrose CO 24:50
3 Chris Murphy 41 M Palisade CO 25:39
4 Dan Schultz-Ela 60 M Hotchkiss CO 28:15
5 Dave Knutson 67 M Paonia CO 28:45
6 Patrick Hummel 0 M Fruita CO 32:53
7 Lori Stone 55 F Fruita CO 45:12
8 Anky Von Schnoplau 63 F Hotchkiss CO 45:29